Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Professional Development | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

Announcement of New Hampshire Educational Awards

Today (September 17, 2013), Commissioner of Education, Virginia M. Barry, Ph.D., recognized 38 schools that are aspiring towards excellence in order to provide the best educational opportunities for NH children. These awards build community awareness of our state's finest schools and districts, while providing positive messages about the teaching profession.

“All across our state, our schools are working hard to prepare New Hampshire’s young people for bright futures and successful careers in the 21st Century economy,” Governor Hassan said. “I congratulate the dedicated educators and officials at all of these award-winning schools for their innovative approaches that are strengthening our public education system and fostering success for our students.”

Commissioner Barry said, “These awards would not be possible without the forward thinking of our NH educators and I am pleased to honor schools and districts that demonstrate innovative and successful educational practices to support our students future.”

The Commissioner’s Circle of Excellence recognizes schools and districts that aspire to excellence by being innovative in service to children. Lyme Elementary; Maple Wood Elementary School (Somersworth) New Franklin School (Portsmouth); Plymouth Elementary; Somersworth Middle School and Valley View Community Elementary School (Farmington) are being named for inclusion to the Commissioner’s Circle of Excellence this year. Included in the Circle of Excellence are New Hampshire high schools, members of the League of Innovative Schools (LIS), committed to fostering forward thinking innovation in the design and delivery of secondary education. The NH LIS in Cohort II are Hillsborough-Deering High School; Making Community Connections Charter School (Manchester); and Winnacunnet High School (Hampton).

This recognition also includes schools nominated by the New Hampshire Department of Education for inclusion in the Blue Ribbon Schools Program which recognizes schools where students achieve at high academic levels and/or where the achievement gap is narrowing. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program is part of a larger United States Department of Education (USED) effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best schools’ leadership and teaching practices. The schools nominated for 2013 are; Bernice A. Ray School (Hanover); Hollis Primary School; Lin-Wood Public School (Elementary); Newfields Elementary School; Strafford School; and Whitefield Elementary School. The USED will announce the national recipients later this month.

The Department is pleased to announce that Adeline C.Marston School (Hampton); Campton Elementary; Cornish Elementary; Daisy Bronson Junior High School (Littleton); Jefferson Elementary; Lancaster Elementary; Lincoln Ackerman School (Hampton Falls); and North Hampton School have been selected as Reward Schools. This selection is the result of a new methodology approved in the state’s Flexibility Waiver. This year’s program recognizes eight Title I elementary and middle schools that demonstrated the greatest gains in composite Median Student Growth Percentile in Reading and Mathematics based on the most recent three years of NECAP results.

The Department of Education, superintendents, school boards, and educators across the state remain committed to reducing the drop-out rate to zero. Seven high schools, the Academy for Science and Design Charter (Nashua); Belmont High School; Cocheco Arts and Technology Charter Academy (Dover); Gorham High School; Hopkinton High School; Pittsburg High School; and Windham High School, have reported zero dropouts for two consecutive years and eight high schools, Bow High School; Hanover High School; Kennett High School (North Conway); Lisbon Regional High School; Moultonborough Academy; Newfound Regional High School; Souhegan Cooperative High School (Amherst); and Woodsville High School had zero dropouts for the 2011-2012 school year.

Promotion of recognition awards goes a long way towards keeping New Hampshire’s teachers engaged and excited about education. By recognizing the importance of outstanding educators we hope to inspire continued conversation about what works to support our children to graduate college and career ready. Nothing touches more lives, or gives more promise to the future than education.

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711