Home Education is an alternative to attendance at a public or private school and is an individualized form of instruction in accordance with Chapter 279:2, laws of 1990.
A parent is eligible under the Administrative Rules, Ed 315 to establish a home education program for a child between 6 and 18 years of age including an "educationally disabled child" as defined under RSA 186-C:2, I, provided that the definition of "educationally disabled child" as defined under RSA 186-C:2, I, for the purposes of Ed 315, shall be applicable only to children between 6 and 18 years of age.
|Home Education Advisory Council||Policies and Procedures|
|Laws and Administrative Rules||Resources|
|NH Home Educators Associations|
Certificate of Completion
The parent meets the requirements for successful completion of a home school program for a child under 18 years of age when, pursuant to RSA 193:1, I(f)(2), the parent submits a letter to the department of education certifying that the child has completed the home school program at the high school level. The letter containing the statement above shall also include the following information:
(a) Name and address of the child;, date of birth
(b) Name and address of the parents;
(c) Date of completion of the home school program;
(d) A phone number at which the parent may be reached during normal business hours; and
(e) Signature of the parent
The parent is responsible to maintain a record of proof of delivery of such certification.
For Higher Education Admission and Financial Aid Administrators
New Hampshire homeschooling law neither requires nor provides a secondary school completion credential for resident homeschooled students.
New Hampshire homeschooled students satisfy academic and eligibility requirements set forth in the Higher Education Act of 1965 (as amended) Sec.484(d)(3), 34 CFR 668.32(e)(4), and the Federal Student Aid Handbook, Volume 1, Chapter 1, page 6 by providing self-certification of secondary school completion through home education as defined by New Hampshire law, RSA 193-A.
For NH Home Education Parents and Students:
Under federal law, NH homeschooled students can self-certify that he/she has completed high school through homeschooling in order to be eligible for Federal Student Aid (FSA) funds.
Microsoft Word format. You can download a free reader from Microsoft.